“Our hearts so stout have brought us fame
for soon 'tis known from whence we came
where e'er we go they dread the name
of Garryowen in glory”

US 7th Cavalry Association

Garryowen FC v Clontarf FC

GARRYOWEN 13 CLONTARF 10, Dooradoyle
Scorers: Garryowen: Try: Penalty try; Con: Pen try con; Pens: Jamie Heuston 2
Clontarf: Try: Cian Walsh; Con: Sean Kearns; Pen: Sean Kearns
HT: Garryowen 6 Clontarf 10

In-form Garryowen made it three league wins in-a-row with a second half penalty try proving crucial in their tense encounter with Clontarf at Dooradoyle.

The Light Blues prevailed 13-10 to move back into Division 1A’s top four, as sixth-placed ‘Tarf were held scoreless in the second half and ultimately fell to their fourth defeat in five matches.

The north Dubliners had won 29-12 on their last visit to Garryowen in March, and they were able to recover well from a six-point deficit this afternoon. Garryowen full-back Jamie Heuston landed a brace of penalties from either side of the posts.

The closing eight minutes of the first half saw ‘Tarf come alive as they profited from Sean O’Connor’s sin-binning. Their forwards piled on the pressure during some patient phases close to the line before flanker Cian Walsh crashed over from a power-packed collective drive from a few metres out.

Full-back Sean Kearns added the extras and also tagged on a late penalty goal for a 10-6 turnaround at the break. But the visitors suffered the double whammy of a penalty try and a yellow card in the 51st minute.

Diarmuid Barron connected with O’Connor at a close-in lineout and as the well-executed maul thundered towards the line, ‘Tarf openside Ruadhan Byron was singled out by referee Eddie Hogan O’Connell for the sin-bin infringement and the concession of the penalty try.

Now back in the lead, Garryowen were able to hold onto their hard-earned advantage with half-backs Dave McCarthy and Jack Stafford, O’Connor and Andy Keating all producing big performances. Despite the best efforts of Leinster centre Conor O’Brien, ‘Tarf were unable to eke out a closing score.

GARRYOWEN: Jamie Heuston; Colm Quilligan, Bryan Fitzgerald, Jack Delaney, Tommy O’Hora; Dave McCarthy, Jack Stafford; Corrie Barrett, Diarmuid Barron, Andy Keating, Sean O’Connor, Kevin Seymour (capt), Johnny Keane, Jack Daly, Tim Ferguson.

Replacements: Liam Cronin, Jack Mullany, Sean Rennison, Evan Maher, Hugh O’Brien-Cunningham.

CLONTARF: Sean Kearns; Jack Power, Conor O’Brien, Matt D’Arcy, Cian O’Donoghue; Conor Kelly, Ben Murphy; Ivan Soroka, Tadgh McElroy, Jack Aungier, Tom Byrne, Johan van der Flier, Cian Walsh, Ruadhan Byron, Michael Noone (capt).

Replacements: Dylan Donnellan, JP Phelan, Cormac Daly, Mark O’Sullivan, Gearoid Lyons.


New Member Registration
Existing Member Portal
Annual Subscription Payments